Oven Baked Teriyaki Chicken

This recipe was AWESOME!!!! I discovered the original recipe on Dine and Dish I had to change it up a bit because…that’s what I do :) I am thinking about twisting it up just a tad more the next time I make it, because there will be an encore performance! LOL  You DEFINITELY need to make this one…maybe make a double batch of the sauce for leftover rice ;)  It made for a great lunch the next day!

The flavor really reminded me of a little teriyaki house in my home town.  I used to LOVE to get their teriyaki bowls…hold the veggies (I know you’re supposed to eat your veggies but it was a phase I was going through)  Now I can get that familiar flavor anytime I am feeling a little homesick :)  Who knows…maybe next time I will steam some broccoli and other veggies to add to it LOL

***Oven Baked Teriyaki Chicken***

  • 1 tablespoon cornstarch
  • 1 tablespoon cold water
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar (maybe honey next time)
  • 1/2 cup soy sauce
  • 1/4 cup rice wine vinegar
  • 2 cloves garlic, fresh minced or grated
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground black pepper
  • 12 chicken thighs or legs (I used 3 leg quarters)
  • 1/2-1 teaspoon chili flakes
  • 2 cups or more :) fresh pineapple, rings or chunks whatever you like. (I used fresh chunks)
  1. In a small saucepan over low heat, combine the cornstarch, cold water, sugar, soy sauce, vinegar, garlic, chili flakes, and ground black pepper. Let simmer, stirring frequently, until sauce thickens and bubbles.
  2. Preheat oven to 425 degrees F (220 degrees C).
  3. Using scissors, remove the skin and any pieces of fat from each chicken thigh. Place chicken pieces in a 9×13 inch baking dish sprayed with Pam cooking spray (or cover with foil for real easy clean up). Pour 1/2 half of the sauce over the chicken, brushing each piece so it is coated.
  4. Bake in the preheated oven for 30 minutes. Turn pieces over, pour on remaining sauce, and add the pineapple bake for an additional 30 minutes, or until chicken juices run clear.

Leave a Reply

