No-Grate Laundry Detergent

Well, Last night I went down and bought all my items to make my homemade cleaning products.  For this recipe I already had Dawn dish soap from my couponing so all I needed was Borax and Washing Soda.

Borax: $3.38

Washing Soda: $3.24

Dawn: $0.24 (But without coupon and sale usually $1.20 for the small bottle at CVS)

The recipe was super easy to make and smells AWESOME…I hope it cleans as well as it smells LOL.  I am washing a load of diapers in it right now so I will let you know how they turn out!  The detergent is an bit like ummm Water…I don’t know if it will thicken or not.  I was expecting something thicker and the blog didn’t say what it was supposed to look like so I hope I did it right.  The instructions are pretty straight forward so i don’t see how I could have messed them up LOL.  Oh well, I’m going to use it and hope it works out ;)

The Recipe:

3 Tablespoons Borax

3 Tablespoons Washing Soda

2 Tablespoons Dawn Dish soap

Put these ingredients in a one gallon jug, add 4 cups boiling water into the jug. Swirl until ingredients are dissolved in the liquid. Let liquid cool. Then fill almost to the top with cold water. The bubbles will overflow out of the bottle. Use 1/2 c per large load.

I got the recipe from One Good Thing By Jillee

FOLLOW UP: I have done a couple of loads so far and it seems to be cleaning just as good as the “store bought” detergent.  The only thing I don’t like is that it’s so liquid…I mean it looks like lightly colored water…so it’s really a psychological thing that it’s not thick and “soap-like”.  I think for the next batch I will make either the powder or the liquid that requires grating…just to see if there is a difference :)

Leave a Reply

